Search museums


Search collections

University of Jena

"The University of Jena, officially the Friedrich-Schiller University of Jena (German: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, abbreviated FSU, shortened form Uni Jena) is a public research university located in Jena, Thuringia, Germany.

The university was established in 1558 and is counted among the ten oldest universities in Germany. It is affiliated with six Nobel Prize winners, most recently in 2000 when Jena graduate Herbert Kroemer won the Nobel Prize for physics. It was renamed after the poet Friedrich Schiller who was teaching as professor of philosophy when Jena attracted some of the most influential minds at the turn of the 19th century. With Karl Leonhard Reinhold, Johann Gottlieb Fichte, G. W. F. Hegel, F. W. J. Schelling and Friedrich von Schlegel on its teaching staff, the university was at the centre of the emergence of German idealism and early Romanticism." - ( 01.11.2019)

What we know


Institution of study Law Novalis (1772-1801) Jena 1790-1791
Institution of study Johann Gottlieb Fichte (1762-1814) Jena 1794-1799

Sources & Mentions

Objects and visualizations


Jena11.5863885879516600050.92722320556640600Place of studies // place of actiondb_images_gestaltung/generalsvg/place-biog.svg0.0622

Relations to time periods

Show relations to time periods